a blog by Liz Johnston… just a 20-something PR girl trying to find her way

My First Award, Kind Of.

Those in the PR world know of the national organization, PRSA – the Public Relations Society of America. As a student, I have been apart of PRSSA – with the extra S standing for Student. What is great about both PRSA and PRSSA are the opportunities to meet and mingle with fellow PR practitioners.

This past Thursday, I went to the  PRSA Portland Chapter Spotlight Awards. This is was first PRSA event, and I was there representing my agency. I was excited to be at the event, yet, nervous because I was not just representing me, but my agency as well. No one from the agency’s PR team was able to attend, and being nominated for awards, I went on behalf of the team.

The event was awesome, to say the least. It was held at Nike in Beaverton, which being there, is an experience in itself. It was only a little bit awkward when my bosses name was called to accept the awards and I stood up instead. People were clapping and congratulating me, and I walked up in front of the banquet hall, shook hands, took a picture and sat down. Fun, but awkward.

There is a first time for everything, and that was pretty awesome.

Comments on: "My First Award, Kind Of." (3)

  1. That is hilarious! I would have been mortified – good work not being a complete mess. I bet that was fun – did anyone end up going with you?

  2. I wish I was there to yell, “Speech! Speech!” just as you accepted the award haha. Sounds like you had a great time and got to mingle with some influential people

  3. Still bummed that my car troubles kept me from this but I am so happy you got to experience it. I love that you were mistaken for your boss. That’s good exposure for you! haha!

Leave a Reply

