a blog by Liz Johnston… just a 20-something PR girl trying to find her way

The Half Way Point

It’s officially the half way point of this program. I am half the way through my internship, halfway through my last class and yet still not even close to halfway figuring out my life.

I love my internship and my internship loves me, no doubt about it. We work great together. We laugh, we play, we brainstorm – we both want this relationship to continue, if at all possible. It just may not be possible. I’m having a hard time coming to terms with that fact. That no mater how well I am doing, how hard I am working, things just might not work out. My brain gets it. My heart, not so much. I have said it before and I will say it again and again and again, this is my dream.

But in reality, who’s dream comes true at age 22? Not many. And it’s hard for me to think that just maybe I cold be that one-in-a-million college graduate whose life falls into perfect place. I’m trying so hard to find the balance between hopeful optimism and realistic pessimism, but I’m coming up empty.

Like my dad always says, keep truckin’ on.

Leave a Reply

