a blog by Liz Johnston… just a 20-something PR girl trying to find her way

What has made this intern experience so interesting is the unique life intersection I am at:  real-world grown-up working in the PRo life vs. broke ass college student living off frozen burritos. If only you could walk a day in my shoes…

Now, throw into that mix one part new-girl-in-a-big-city and one part deer-in-the-headlights and you just might understand where I’m coming from. So when I’m told to just grab the AMEX card like it’s no bid deal, you can only imagine the shock, excitement and confusion I felt. Are these people really trusting me with this card. And it’s not like they have any reason not to, but jeez, its an AMEX card for crying out loud. So much credit card power!

Then the fear sets in and the paranoid, checking-my-wallet-every-two-seconds habit begins.

Looking back on it now, it’s just another reason why I feel so lucky to be a part of the PDXSX program. I’m not just another intern here. I truly am a part of the team – for what little time I have left.

Leave a Reply

