a blog by Liz Johnston… just a 20-something PR girl trying to find her way

Monotony is bound to happen. There is no way, that I know, to avoid it. You can, however, work with it. Monotony, I have found, is the silent challenge in the transition from college student to professional. In college, most classes are an every-other-day thing and routines and schedules change on a daily basis. In an office, not so much. True, some days may be filled with meetings or agendas, but as an intern, not so much. I sit at my computer.

And I sit at my computer.

And I sit at my computer.

Now, that’s not to say that they aren’t exciting moments, there are. I have blogged about quite a few. But let’s be real (and I always try to be) – most of my day is spent looking at a computer screen, reading, typing and researching. But I have discovered the key to avoiding those dragging moments when you think, “I can’t believe this is what my life will be like, every single day.”

Guess what? No it won’t. I found that by reminding myself that I am the intern, bottom of the totem-pole, and at times invisible figure in the office, I remember that I have to work my way up to the dream. This is just the beginning. Holy shit, and please excuse my language, but I am only 22-years-old and this is only the beginning.

Leave a Reply

